Taking a break from Robots, it’s Awesome Sauce!

Quick explanation – my team at the LEAP (LEGO Education Advisory Panel) conference  this year was called Awesome Sauce.  I grew cayenne peppers this year.  I made hot sauce, I called it Awesome Sauce. Turns out it’s really easy to do.  Here’s the recipe as I did it.  Keep in mind I’m no cook and have no training at this, just did a quick google search and made it up as I went.

1.  Gather your ingredients.  Onions and cayenne peppers from my garden and garlic from the supermarket in this case.  Some people like to add carrots for balance but I just wanted it spicy hot!

IMG_22162. Chop the tips and stems off the peppers.

Wait!!!  Are you wearing gloves?  If not then wash your hands several times during this process and do not touch eyes, children, inside nose or mouth, or genitalia.  Seriously.

IMG_22173. Measure.  I’m not sure why, I think I just wanted to see how much I have and get an approximation of how much vinegar to add.

IMG_22184. Chop and dice other stuff.

IMG_22195. Roast/toast it by heating on low in a frying pan with no oil.  This worked well to add a nice flavor layer to cayennes and garlic, but did nothing for the onions except make them stick to the pan.  No pic for this step, sorry.

6. Put it all in a blender.

IMG_22207. Add vinegar.  How much?  I don’t know.  You want enough to make it saucy (as in smooth and pourable) but not so much that the vinegar flavor overwhelms the pepper hotness.  Add a little at a time while you’re blending and try with a spoon, not your finger tip!  Add some more.  Stop when you get it right.

IMG_22218. Blend baby, blend!

IMG_22229. Put in saucepan, bring to a boil.  Let it simmer for a while – like long enough to make the kids lunch and have a beer. 🙂

IMG_222310.  If your house smells like vinegar, you put too much in.  If your eyes are stinging it’s vinegar, if they’re burning it’s pepper.  You want a nice burn/sting balance.  🙂 Once you’ve simmered for a while, strain the mixture.

IMG_222411. And finally bottle the stuff.  I still have to make a custom label for my awesome sauce.

Enjoy!  Let me know how yours went when you make it!IMG_2225IMG_2226

Leave a Reply

